Tinderbox User-to-User Forum (for formal tech support please email: info@eastgate.com)
http://www.eastgate.com/Tinderbox/forum//YaBB.cgi
Tinderbox Users >> Off The Wall: Feature Ideas >> sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
http://www.eastgate.com/Tinderbox/forum//YaBB.cgi?num=1382587762

Message started by wvaughan on Oct 24th, 2013, 12:09am

Title: sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Post by wvaughan on Oct 24th, 2013, 12:09am

I am using tinderbox for virtually all of my writing and note taking these days. Love it.  That said, I'm a bit nervous about how easy it is to delete notes. I almost lost all of 2007 in my journal tinderbox file tonight when I accidentally hit the delete key. Sure, there's the "undo" option...but what if you miss it or don't catch it in time?

If there are ways people deal with this I'd love to hear about them. I back up everything on a backup drive with time capsule but honestly have never had to use it to replace anything before and I'm a bit nervous.

My idea would be to have some sort of interim delete step - a trash can of sorts - where deleted notes go before they get officially trashed.  If there's some work around that I'm unaware of, please let me know!

Title: Re: sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Post by Mark Bernstein on Oct 24th, 2013, 12:25am

1) Time Machine is your friend. So is SuperDuper. Use both, Often.

2) Make a container for your discarded notes. Don't delete them; move them to the discard container.

3) If you want to automatically "discard" notes -- for example, if they have been checked -- use agents or Rules. (Agents are usually a better choice.)  

Title: Re: sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Post by wvaughan on Oct 24th, 2013, 4:40pm

Thanks Mark.  This post got me moving: I just picked up a second backup drive and downloaded super duper.  I also rearranged how I archive things.  Thanks.

Title: Re: sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Post by Gregg Williams on Jan 11th, 2014, 3:06pm

Mark, I have the same concerns and experience as wvaughn. I've had this happen to me twice now, and I did recover using Time Machine. But I'd rather not lose work in the first place!

What would be nice would be to have a way to "lock" a note (and, by definition, all the notes that it contains). Could you please consider implementing some mechanism for doing this? A new is-locked attribute would be sufficient and allow for maximum flexibility. A confirm-to-delete attribute would be more user-friendly.

So many people depend so heavily on their Tinderbox data, and it's just too easy to delete a single note (which, at root level, could represent months or even years of work). In my opinion, Tinderbox is too sophisticated a tool to depend on simplistic (Undo) and ad-hoc (Time Machine) safety nets. Help us, please.

Title: Re: sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Post by Mark Bernstein on Jan 12th, 2014, 7:29pm

Tinderbox Six has a new approach to this.

But, in the end, there is -- and cannot be -- a failsafe protection mechanism that lets you change your document and also protects you completely from those changes. If you are permitted to delete things, then there will always be opportunities for remorse.

If you read The Tinderbox Way, you'll find a discussion of why you should get out of the habit of deleting notes, and instead archive them. Tinderbox has lots of tools to make this easy. But it's occasionally necessary to delete things, and if you can delete things, you can delete them mistakenly.

Time Machine is your friend.

Tinderbox User-to-User Forum (for formal tech support please email: info@eastgate.com) » Powered by YaBB 2.2.1!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.