Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Notes for a Novel (Read 110851 times)
JeffAbbott

Notes for a Novel
Jan 08th, 2008, 12:20pm

Hi all, I'm a Tinderbox newbie. I'd like to use Tinderbox to organize detailed notes for a novel. I've written ten suspense novels (published in fifteen languages), and have also written film treatments for studios. I've done most of my work with analog methods and the Inspiration outliner. Tinderbox represents a new way for me to work and I wondered if I might get some advice.

Normally I've kept a notebook for each book I write, filled with thoughts and ideas on characters, plots, twists, and sketches of scenes. These usually ran about 200+ pages and were not highly organized. I would fill up these notebooks, outline my plot on index cards, and use that stack of cards as a guide for a more detailed outline in Inspiration, then write the novel in Word. I also used Inspiration a lot for brainstorming. But I discovered there were lots of detail in the notebooks that weren't making it into the index cards and thus into my early drafts, which led me to Tinderbox as a way to preserve the visual outlining of index cards/Inspiration with the meat of the notebook's details inside the notes: linked, organized, searchable and at immediate hand. I'd also like to use Tinderbox to keep ideas that aren't quite ready for a book or film or story, but could be mined for later projects.