Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Can I divide my word count by 250? (Read 5168 times)
Greg McQueen

Can I divide my word count by 250?
Feb 20th, 2008, 5:04pm

I've been an on/off Tinderbox user for a couple of years now. I'm a writer, and have experimented with most of the Mac apps for writing. But, I keep coming back to Tinderbox. Why? You're all Tinderbox users, I'm sure I've no need to bore you with that answer! Anyway, 4.1.0 is great work Mark, and it has really switched me on to fully embracing Tinderbox as a tool to get the chaotic contents of my brain squeezed into a well written story.

Okay. Here's what I'm trying to do:

I'm revising a novel. I have containers for each chapter, and inside are notes that are colour coded through prototypes to indicate what stage I'm at draft wise. So, the Chapter One container has 3 versions of Chapter One: Rough, Revised, and Final.

I then have 3 agents set up to collect each draft version. I also have 3 notes set up using Display Expression to give me a live word count for each draft. Here's what I'm using to display the word count(s):

sum(child(/Agents/Rough Draft Manuscript),$WordCount)

What I would like to do is try to set up a Display Expression to show an approximate printed page count as well. To do this, I simply need to take the draft word count and divide it by 250 (the approximate number of words per printed page.)