Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Very basic question about novel organization (Read 19094 times)
John McDonnell

Very basic question about novel organization
Mar 15th, 2008, 6:56pm

I am new to Tinderbox, plus I am a decidedly non-geeky type, so please bear with my very basic question. I am using Tinderbox to organize notes for a novel, and I'm very pleased with how flexible it is. I can just type notes on the fly when I'm brainstorming, and worry about organizing them later. My problem now is that I'm at the point where I have a LOT of notes, and it's becoming unwieldy. I created adornments (boxes) in Map view for scenes, motivations, conflicts, Acts (I, II, and III), but one problem I'm having is I have so many notes in each box that I can't see them individually. Is there a way to just get an Outline view of an individual box? I would like to see all the notes for, say, Act I, in a list so that I can change them around according to what scenes will be in that Act. The adornments don't show up in Outline view, only the whole file, and it's difficult to sort out which notes belong with which Act.

Thank you in advance for your answers. By the way, since I'm so new to Tinderbox as a novel-writing tool, I would appreciate any suggestions from other writers on how they organize their writing with Tinderbox.

John

IP Logged
Ioa Petra-ka

Portland, Oregon, USA
Re: Very basic question about novel organization
Reply #1 - Mar 15th, 2008, 7:48pm