Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Get rid of HTML in exported text? (Read 10815 times)
AndreasE

Get rid of HTML in exported text?
May 30th, 2008, 5:32am

I'm writing in German,  a language that employs a lot of umlauts (ä,ö,ü etc.).

When I export text from a Tinderbox file, I get the HTML-equivalents for umlauts in note titles, while umlauts in note content remain as they are.

I'd like to get umlauts in exported titles as well. I studied the manual and the functions for hours now, but I have no clue whether this is possible or not and if, how.

Maybe someone could give me a hint? Thanks in advance.

IP Logged
Mark Anderson
YaBB Administrator

User - not staff!

Southsea, UK
Re: Get rid of HTML in exported text?
Reply #1 - May 30th, 2008, 6:06am

My hunch is it is HTMLEntities that is controlling this. Until very recently most web pages used the basic Latin character set that didn't necessarily support accents. Now UTF-8 has become more prevalent, the need to entify (some) characters has lessened - or rather changed in scope.

In HTML/XHTML/XML use the fact characters are 'entified' shouldn't cause a problem. So, it would help to know why you want to change entity generation - are you not using the process for actual HTML output but some other format (perfectly possible!)?

--
Mark Anderson
TB user and Wiki Gardener
aTbRef v6
(TB consulting - email me)
WWW shoantel   IP Logged
AndreasE

Reply #2 - May 30th, 2008, 8:25am