Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Moving Notes to Containers by Key Attributes (Read 4122 times)
Michael

Moving Notes to Containers by Key Attributes
Jul 11th, 2008, 10:55am

Please excuse me if this topic has already been started. I am a newbie and part of the difficulty in being a newbie is not having a vocabulary of sufficient complexity to search topics with any kind of percision.
So here it is...is there a way to craft an action or rule so that when you assign a particular criteria to a note, it will automatically be "moved" into a container meeting that criteria? Like, I have a household inventory with containers representing furniture, applicances, electronics, etc. I would like to give a prototype note "possession" a key attribute entitled "type". When I create a new note representing a particular possession, when I assign a type to the note (e.g. TV = electronics), the note is moved into the appropriate container.

IP Logged
Mark Bernstein
YaBB Administrator

designer of
Tinderbox

Eastgate Systems, Inc.
Re: Moving Notes to Containers by Key Attributes
Reply #1 - Jul 11th, 2008, 11:24am

The Container attribute will do this. You might use a rule such as:

if(type="electronics"){Container="/house/electronic devices";}

Another approach -- perhaps more idiomatically Tinderbox, would be to create an Agent that looks for type=electronics.  This doesn't move the original note, which stays where you put it; instead; it makes an alias inside the agent.