Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Starting Oot (Read 5343 times)
Rick Taylor

Starting Oot
May 16th, 2009, 1:31pm

As I mentioned before I'm new to Tinderbox. I don't have any specific questions at this point; it's just helpful for me to write things out as I think. I've played with many organizers over time: Ecco Pro (one I actually used), Zoot, Mori, and Journler in particular. I'm attracted to it because of its flexibility, Mark's excellent support and because notes are also containers.

I'm making a point to spend at least some time every day using, organizing, and learning Tinderbox. Using means typing in notes and using it to keep track of things. Organizing means thinking about the structures I want to create in Tinderbox. Learning at this point means reading the manual and trying out features.

I'm trying to keep things simple, not to create structure for structure's sake. I'm also more familiar with the outline metaphor, so I'm starting with that aspect of the software.

I liked Journler's model of using a diary metaphor, having diary entries going into one main folder, where they can be cloned to other folders for organization. So I've created a Diary folder sorted backwards by date. Random To Do's are going in another folder for now. For now it's mostly a convenient place to keep notes.