Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Knowledge Repository (Read 23761 times)
Amafortas

Knowledge Repository
Dec 23rd, 2009, 4:53pm

Hello all,

I wonder if anyone has thoughts about how to leverage the power and flexibility of Tinderbox 5 to create a knowledge repository. I am a University lecturer, so I have quite a few notes.

I had been creating separate files for each major project, but I now have data scattered everywhere. (I realize I will need to do the work to pull these files together and that this organization is not a fault of Tinderbox but of my own imagination.)  The problem is that I need to check several places to discover where my notes on a particular novel, for instance, are located. This is quickly growing unwieldily.

What I'd like to do is to organize all my files in a master Tinderbox document and then create links, perhaps aliases?, to Tinderbox documents for a specific course.

I realize I can do some of this quite easily, but the map view, which I find most useful soon becomes difficult to navigate--especially if I create hierarchies of notes. For example, if I have English 203-->Notes--> Beloved-->Writing Prompts--> Discussion Board, the discussion board prompts are buried, in the map--they work just fine in the outline view. However, using Tinderbox as only an outliner seems extremely silly.

What I'd like to have is a way of using the outline and the map together to navigate hierarchically structured notes. I would appreciate thoughts and perhaps an example or two.

Cheers,