Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Sending an email (Read 17539 times)
Graeme

Sending an email
Jan 14th, 2010, 3:57pm

I am a total newbie to Tinderbox and would like to send some simple email messages on the DueDate. The excellent article on email and Twitter leaves me a little confused. Is there a simple example (snippet) that demonstrates how I assemble the code from the article? I understand most concepts, but not all.

IP Logged
Mark Anderson
YaBB Administrator

User - not staff!

Southsea, UK
Re: Sending an email
Reply #1 - Jan 14th, 2010, 5:27pm

Where are you getting lost? With this osrt of thing, it can help to work backwards. For instance, can you figure out the command line you need TB to assemble for you? From that you can work out what parts can come from specific existing attributes, such as $Email, user attributes you might need to make and what is effectively boilerplate for the task.

So, consider the tutorial example. We're trying to make TB pass out a command line like:

sendmail -f kate@example.com fred@example.com, "Subject: todo: Submit paper"

In other words asking OS X's Unix shell: "please sendmail app, make a new email from kate@example.com to fred@example.com with the subject "todo: Submit paper" and send it.