Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Export a subset of the outline as a text outline (Read 4779 times)
Jeff

Export a subset of the outline as a text outline
Aug 18th, 2010, 5:06pm

When I was a graduate student 20 some odd years ago my office mate told me that his father had bought a new computer and, after reading the manual, setup an appointment with his doctor to be checked for Alzheimers. I now understand the feeling.

I am preparing to teach a new class based on the TED talks. I have a lot of the talks entered as notes and agents to help me sort them out into various threads that I will try to weave through the class. I would like to print a simple indented version of my themes which is a container within my Tinderbox document.

I thought this would be easy but quickly found that the Print command doesn't work the way I thought it would ... OK.

I found the Export as text option under the File menu but couldn't get it to export just the subsection I want ... OK.

It looks like there are some formating options and I can set up a Template to export what I want. Then I found the Nakakoji view which seems much like the export command but it will allow me to export just the subsection I want but it looks like this:

3.9 Themes
           3.9.1 Technology
     3.9.1.1 Clifford Stoll on ... everything
     3.9.1.2 David Pogue says "Simplicity sells"
     3.9.1.3 Lawrence Lessig: Re-examining the remix

edited to shorten the output ...

3.9.1.12 Reed Kroloff on modern and romantic architecture