Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Longfrom help documentation (Read 6315 times)
Johnnie Wilcox - mistersquid

San Francisco, CA
Longfrom help documentation
May 24th, 2011, 12:38am

I've been using Tinderbox actively for 5 years now. I know Tinderbox well enough to know it's changed enough to justify an update to the program's standalone, longform, non-networked documentation.

Yes, I'd rather not crawl aTBRef (thanks, Mark A.) for every answer about topics as basic (and intricate) as syntax and method.

Tinderbox deserves standalone documentation that can serve beginners and experts alike. If you must, charge a (reasonable) price for it. Whatever.

I just really really would love something like a user's guide for this Frankensteinian, stitched-together, neo-Vicky pipeworks called Tinderbox which I know, love, and revile at once.

Smiley

IP Logged
Mark Anderson
YaBB Administrator

User - not staff!

Southsea, UK
Re: Longfrom help documentation
Reply #1 - May 24th, 2011, 4:48am

Johnnie, could you give an example sort of question you're looking to answer and the sort of article you're expecting to find? The question's not idle. People regularly articulate what they don't like with the Help but there's nary an indication as to what they envisage in their minds eye.

Over some years of use & helping out I've noted, re Help, that people:
  • don't want long form. Yawn, too much to read in one go.
  • do want long form. Can print out everything in one place.