Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Situated, Deep Narrative (Read 2840 times)
Ted Goranson

Virginia Beach VA
Situated, Deep Narrative
Jul 23rd, 2011, 11:27pm

It is probably time to announce what I am working on, though it may be some time before I can share the whole thing.

I am a computer/cognitive scientist, aspiring to understand and field a new class of logics that could enable machines to better understand narrative. Narrative in this use is larger than ‘story,’ referring to how we naturally structure and store information. When we recall that stored structure in order to discern/create meaning, it builds stories, apparently according to some principles we can discern.

We may be able to emulate, even anticipate these structures in a machine, both in how they are stored and how they generate meaning. (After all, a book is simply a machine.) I think we can go a long way in this with ‘reactive’ typed links and new results in the mathematics of logic.

Tinderbox as it happens is possibly capable of some meaningful experiments in this space, both because of its capabilities and the community attracted to Mark. I have a three phased project that Mark A (and others) is helping with.

The first phase focuses on building a workable architecture for structured authoring and publishing to the web. This has been a year in the works already, but should emerge soon. Strictly speaking, it is a simple matter: author in Tinderbox and export within the profound constraints of html.