Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Journalist newbie question (Read 33911 times)
uppereast1

Journalist newbie question
Jun 23rd, 2012, 1:35pm

I am a journalist and would like to ramp up my usage of TBX for my work. I have a couple of quick questions. I carry around a Mac book Air and use it for notes at interviews, meetings etc. In addition, I download a ton of material off the web and get sent hundreds of pdfs. If I use Tinderbox as my main notetaker, how searchable will those notes be? Do they have to be in the same document to be searchable? Would I have to create a huge single document with all my notes to be searchable? I'm talking literally hundreds of notes a month. Would that work? Would I be better off putting individual notes in Devonthink Pro Office or Evernote so I could find somebody's name from six months ago whom I no longer remember? Does anybody have a workflow like this? If I use Devonthink, how easy is it to get notes from tinderbox or Twig into another piece of software like Scrivener or a word document that can be stored? Just trying  to think this process through to set up the workflow properly.

Also I love the idea of a daybook. Its just what I have been looking for. Is there an easy way to create main notes that have a date for a title but their children won't?

IP Logged
Mark Anderson
YaBB Administrator

User - not staff!

Southsea, UK
Re: Journalist newbie question
Reply #1 - Jun 23rd, 2012, 4:21pm

Lots of questions there. I'll try and answer some.