Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Agent/Script for annotating by paragraph (Read 24002 times)
Peter100

Agent/Script for annotating by paragraph
Aug 27th, 2012, 12:12pm

I am looking for a way to automate annotations/notes at the paragraph level. I am new to Tinderbox. I have no programming / scripting skills. I am a PhD student trying to finish my thesis.

Scenario: I have ca 4000 docs/pdfs that I've collected over the past three 3 years. Some of these contain the keys to my thesis. These vary in terms of quality and depth. The ideas expressed in them are not always coherent or flow, but there might be some good bits at paragraph level. I could of course search/tag everything but I would still need to hunt through each one separately to find the good bits.

I am inspired by Tom Webster's video on how he uses Tinderbox for qualitative research http://brandsavant.com/processing-qualitative-research-data-with-tinderbox/ - especially how he takes an interview transcription and "explodes" it at the sentence level and then codes/tags these sentences.