Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
sprawling non-fiction project: ideas? (Read 18604 times)
Jessica Abel

sprawling non-fiction project: ideas?
Feb 15th, 2013, 9:36am

Hi all,

I'm new to TBX-- have made a couple small investigations, and it's already very useful. Now, I'm trying to figure out how to use it to solve a very tough nut. Any hints, and pointers to appropriate tutorials, screencasts, or whatever, much appreciated. I do have the tinderbox tutorial files, but don't really know what to do with them.

OK, here's the project: I'm working on a book (a comic book, actually) about how various radio shows craft narrative. I'm talking to up to 8 or 10 shows/producers, some for 30 or 40 hours, some for more like 1 hour. There's an obvious approach to the material, which is chronological. touch on each of the stages of work, and talk about how they fit into the overall narrative project. It's got drama, a ticking clock, the kind of stuff you want to move the story. But it seems to me the book will be more powerful if there's a way to organize it ALSO via thematic concerns, i.e. the role of "voice" in radio narrative.