Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
"Notecard" mode for the Map view (Read 4554 times)
Gregg Williams

San Jose CA
"Notecard" mode for the Map view
Apr 3rd, 2013, 2:05pm

I'm fairly new to Tinderbox, but I have read/searched the documentation a lot and haven't found a way to do what I'm proposing here. If what I'm proposing is already possible, please let me know!

At the most basic level, I would like to see a way for notes to act like notecards while in Map mode--i.e., rectangular pieces of paper that can overlap or be stacked into rough piles.

Bundled notes

As long as I'm asking, the following would be really helpful as well: Given a stack of notes, select the top note (which is assumed to have a name and no text) and execute the "bundle" command to replace all currently selected notes with a single note/notecard in the following way:

* The single note/notecard now displays the contents of the top note's name field, perhaps in a larger font--it acts as a "label" for all the notes "underneath" it.

* Notes 2 through N visually disappear, but the "bundle notecard" remembers their spatial ordering. (If you were to immediately switch to Outline view, the bundle notecard would be a note, and notes 2 through N would be subnotes underneath it in the same Z-order as in the stack of notes.)

Obviously (back in Map view), there would be an "unbundle" command that would visually replace a bundled note card with the original stack of notes.

The rationale for bundled notes: a proposed workflow