Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  
 
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts (Read 4297 times)
wvaughan
Full Member
*
Offline



Posts: 15

sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Oct 24th, 2013, 12:09am
 
I am using tinderbox for virtually all of my writing and note taking these days. Love it.  That said, I'm a bit nervous about how easy it is to delete notes. I almost lost all of 2007 in my journal tinderbox file tonight when I accidentally hit the delete key. Sure, there's the "undo" option...but what if you miss it or don't catch it in time?

If there are ways people deal with this I'd love to hear about them. I back up everything on a backup drive with time capsule but honestly have never had to use it to replace anything before and I'm a bit nervous.

My idea would be to have some sort of interim delete step - a trash can of sorts - where deleted notes go before they get officially trashed.  If there's some work around that I'm unaware of, please let me know!
Back to top
 
 
  IP Logged
Mark Bernstein
YaBB Administrator
*
Offline

designer of
Tinderbox

Posts: 2871
Eastgate Systems, Inc.
Re: sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Reply #1 - Oct 24th, 2013, 12:25am
 
1) Time Machine is your friend. So is SuperDuper. Use both, Often.

2) Make a container for your discarded notes. Don't delete them; move them to the discard container.

3) If you want to automatically "discard" notes -- for example, if they have been checked -- use agents or Rules. (Agents are usually a better choice.)
Back to top
 
 
WWW   IP Logged
wvaughan
Full Member
*
Offline



Posts: 15

Re: sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Reply #2 - Oct 24th, 2013, 4:40pm
 
Thanks Mark.  This post got me moving: I just picked up a second backup drive and downloaded super duper.  I also rearranged how I archive things.  Thanks.
Back to top
 
 
  IP Logged
Gregg Williams
Full Member
*
Offline



Posts: 23
San Jose CA
Re: sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Reply #3 - Jan 11th, 2014, 3:06pm
 
Mark, I have the same concerns and experience as wvaughn. I've had this happen to me twice now, and I did recover using Time Machine. But I'd rather not lose work in the first place!

What would be nice would be to have a way to "lock" a note (and, by definition, all the notes that it contains). Could you please consider implementing some mechanism for doing this? A new is-locked attribute would be sufficient and allow for maximum flexibility. A confirm-to-delete attribute would be more user-friendly.

So many people depend so heavily on their Tinderbox data, and it's just too easy to delete a single note (which, at root level, could represent months or even years of work). In my opinion, Tinderbox is too sophisticated a tool to depend on simplistic (Undo) and ad-hoc (Time Machine) safety nets. Help us, please.
Back to top
 
 
  IP Logged
Mark Bernstein
YaBB Administrator
*
Offline

designer of
Tinderbox

Posts: 2871
Eastgate Systems, Inc.
Re: sending deleted notes to a trashcan of sorts
Reply #4 - Jan 12th, 2014, 7:29pm
 
Tinderbox Six has a new approach to this.

But, in the end, there is -- and cannot be -- a failsafe protection mechanism that lets you change your document and also protects you completely from those changes. If you are permitted to delete things, then there will always be opportunities for remorse.

If you read The Tinderbox Way, you'll find a discussion of why you should get out of the habit of deleting notes, and instead archive them. Tinderbox has lots of tools to make this easy. But it's occasionally necessary to delete things, and if you can delete things, you can delete them mistakenly.

Time Machine is your friend.
Back to top
 
 
WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print