Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Tinderbox explained to novices... (Read 4766 times)
Russel

textbook author,
educator,
instructional
designer

Santa Fe, NM
Tinderbox explained to novices...
Jun 3rd, 2014, 6:42pm

I'm new to Tinderbox and am really struggling to get traction doing basic things. Having worked with all types of software over the years, I'm amazed by its potential power. But I'm finding it difficult to leverage my past experience with other software to master Tinderbox features and conventions. Reviewing online help, the Tinderbox Way and various videos, I find that they assume I know more about the program than a novice should.

One striking thing about Tinderbox is that any new user is confronted by its complexity from the very beginning. Just opening an inspector displays numerous attribute and other settings. Without a clear vision of the Tinderbox landscape to build on, I can see new users like myself feeling lost quite quickly. Perhaps everyone goes through this phase as I am. Or perhaps I'm simply dense.

Does anyone on this forum know of learning materials or tutorials pitched specifically to new users? I've sketched an outline of what an introduction to Tinderbox could include and the outline alone comes to about 11 pages.

Clearly, I'd need to limit coverage of various topics. I'd want readers to be able to see through the numerous details to perform some basic tasks with confidence. To get something useful done on their first sitting. A list of basic objectives might include: