Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
[Frustrated] Query to find siblings (Read 2874 times)
manuelkuhs

[Frustrated] Query to find siblings
Nov 24th, 2014, 9:39am

I'm a complete noob to Tbx. However, I have lots of general computer experience, basic programming experience, and usually learn tech stuff pretty quickly. But some things that I thought would be simple in Tbx have me stumped (after several hours of playing with it, browsing Help and aTbRef).

Inside a container I have an agent. I want the agent to find (or rather, limit the next query to) all its siblings, i.e. all notes that are children of the agent's parent.

The query "parent" finds all notes I've created??? I don't understand this result at all...
The query "contains(agent)" successfully gives me the agent's parent (is there a better way to get this?)

Moving to the next step, the query 'child(contains(agent))' finds nothing.

I'd appreciate some basic explanation of how this works. The potential of Tbx has me excited, but it's frustrating not being able to do what seems simple to me.

IP Logged
Mark Bernstein
YaBB Administrator

designer of
Tinderbox

Eastgate Systems, Inc.
Re: [Frustrated] Query to find siblings
Reply #1 - Nov 24th, 2014, 10:00am

Let's suppose CONTAINER holds AGENT and some other notes -- TURKEY, CRANBERRIES, PIE.  TURKEY and PIE have $IsHot true, but CRANBERRIES are not hot.

The Agent query might be

$Name(parent)=="CONTAINER" & $IsHot==true

Or, if there might be several notes with the name CONTAINER,