Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Similar To (Read 1276 times)
jtaekman

Similar To
Jun 25th, 2016, 11:07am

I am a relative novice user of Tinderbox, but have become increasingly interested in its use in my academic writing.

I read lots of manuscripts and extract individual highlighted passages from each article I read. I currently use Devonthink's "AI" to find similar passages to the one I am reading. I use this feature extensively while writing grants and manuscripts. I have thousands of manuscripts and hundreds of thousands of extracted notes.

While developing a simple agent in Tinderbox, I stumbled across the "Similar To" selection in the GetInfo area of a note. I explored this and the suggested notes seem relevant, but Tinderbox only returns the title of each relevant note, not the embedded text.

Two questions:
1. Is there a way to automate viewing of the text of the note (rather than just the title)?
2. How would the ninjas of the forum suggest I set up an agent or adornment for this? I'm concerned about grinding my computer to a halt given the large number of notes that exist in my library. Is it possible to do this on demand only?

Thank you!
Jeff Taekman

« Last Edit: Jun 25th, 2016, 11:13am by jtaekman »  
  IP Logged
Mark Bernstein
YaBB Administrator

designer of
Tinderbox

Eastgate Systems, Inc.
Re: Similar To
Reply #1 - Jun 25th, 2016, 4:14pm

Obviously, similarTo() is computationally costly for large documents, though Tinderbox does a fair amount of indexing to speed it along.