Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Strategies for studying-analyzing a book (Read 2418 times)
Steve Scott

Strategies for studying-analyzing a book
Aug 06th, 2016, 5:32pm

Outline vs Map or, Both?

I am studying a book and I want to create a tinderbox to help my understanding and create new thoughts.  So far, my strategy is to make a map for each chapter.  I love the visual nature of building a map— it helps to see how the concepts and ideas fit together.  However, if I build a map, I don't have the hierarchy of an outline.  Is there a way to get the best of both worlds?  

Map View

Outline View

Suggested Prototypes

What prototypes would you recommend? I'm thinking:
- book notes
- people
- quotes
- references
- my thoughts

Suggestion for quotes
What is the best way to keep the notes and quotes linked to the reference material?  Should every note link to a reference?  Or should, every note contain all of the bibliography fields?

I would be eager to hear any other thoughts on how you use TBX to help you on a research project.

Does anyone have a book study .tbx that you can share as a model?

IP Logged
Mark Bernstein
YaBB Administrator

designer of
Tinderbox

Eastgate Systems, Inc.
Re: Strategies for studying-analyzing a book
Reply #1 - Aug 6th, 2016, 10:04pm

Is there a reason you want to use outlines here?  Is there some answer to which outlines are likely to provide an answer?  If not, leave them be!