Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Tinderbox
  News:
IMPORTANT MESSAGE! This forum has now been replaced by a new forum at http://forum.eastgate.com and no further posting or member registration is allowed. The forum is still accessible via read-only access for reference purposes. If you wish to discuss content here, please use the new forum. N.B. - posting in the new forum requires a fresh registration in the new forum (sorry - member data can't be ported).
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Auto-generate map based on note hyperlinks? (Read 522 times)
robertsck

Auto-generate map based on note hyperlinks?
Dec 31st, 2016, 8:37pm

I'm very new to TinderBox, so my apologies up front if this is a simple question. I've searched the web and forums and cannot find an answer. I'm trying to determine if I can do with TinderBox what I previously did with TiddlyWiki+TiddlyMap.

I have a series of notes in outline form, each with text links between the various notes.

Ideally, I would like to be able to auto-generate a map of the notes with the map showing the link relationships between the notes. It appears as though the links in map view are separate from the links in Outline view. This is most evident when I look at RoadMap. In Outline View I see Inbound/Outbound links. In Map view, roadmap does not show any links. Thus, the text links don't show up in map view.

There also doesn't appear to be a way to show the parent -> child relationship in Outline view as a link type in Map view - as opposed to using containers which visually breaks the link connection. I suppose I could work around this with an agent - and perhaps that is the intended approach?

I'd appreciate if anyone has insight on this issue. I'd be happy to provide more detail if necessary.

Thank you in advance for any insight you can offer!

IP Logged
Mark Anderson
YaBB Administrator

User - not staff!

Southsea, UK
Re: Auto-generate map based on note hyperlinks?
Reply #1 - Jan 1st, 2017, 9:12am