Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Tinderbox
  News:
Tinderbox 6.5.0 is now available! (OS 10.10+) http://www.eastgate.com/Tinderbox
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Outline organization vs. Map organization (Read 10 times)
Scott Laird
Ex Member

Outline organization vs. Map organization
Dec 31st, 1969, 7:00pm

I'm new to TB, and I'm hitting a bit of a wall.  I'm not sure if it's just a mental model problem, or if this is a missing feature.

I'm trying to use TB to help design a small piece of software for work.  I don't fully understand all of the requirements yet, so I'm entering requirements as notes in one outline hierarchy, modeling bits of code with notes ("do this" in one note, then "do something else" in the next) in another place in the hierarchy, and making notes on datastructures in another place in the hierarchy.  I'm adding questions that aren't fully met by bits of design as more notes and linking them to the places that they're applicable to. I'm intending to use agents to link bits of design to places that refer to the design, but that's still a day or so away.

The problem that I'm hitting is that I can't seem to lay things out so they're useful in both map views and outline views.  For instance, I have a set of requirements down a level or two in the outline view and a use case in another place in the outline view, plus a couple open questions in another place in the outline.  I'd really like to be able to lay out a map where all of the questions, use cases, and requirements are visible at the same time and the links between them are visible, but this doesn't appear to be possible without building tons of aliases.  I'd really like to treat outline hierarchies more like adornments, where the sub-nodes are easily visible.  All I can seem to do is get a bunch of dinky little boxes inside of the upper-level note's map entry.  This makes it impossible to visualize the links that I'm creating.